Open jpeg - image displays as empty checkerboard

chillisauce

8 months ago

Since I upgraded to MacOs Sierra many of my Jpeg images are failing to display in Pixelmator. You can open the file, but all you see is an empty checkerboard. If you select 'Show Layers' you can see there is a single layer, with the correct image shown, but there's nothing on the main editing window. This seems to be affecting about 30% of my files. Always the same ones - either a file will open properly every time, or it fails every time.

Any idea what's going on? It's not really usable at the moment. Which is a pity, since I've been using Pixelmator for several years now, with no major issues. I have the latest version (3.5.1), and I'm using a MacBook Pro 13" (late 2015)
Motiejus

8 months ago

Hi chillisauce,

Could you drop us line at support@pixelmator.com regarding this issue and perhaps attach an example file? We'll take it from there.
Pixelmator Team
clickityClack

8 months ago

I just had this start happening as well with pngs that I exported from Photos. will add in a file.
Dany

7 months ago

Same here.
I took a photo with my iPhone 7 this morning, it went to iCloud, was downloaded automatically on my mac (Sierra 10.12.1) and I exported it from "Photos".The file is opened in Pixelmator 3.5.1 as a blank layer.
Opening the same file in "Preview"-App works, copying the image to clipboard (cmd-c) and inserting it into Pixelmator using cmd-v crashes Pixelmator immediately.
Compressed file (zip) is in my Dropbox:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/e7nv6tcvo5gnl ... g.zip?dl=0

Other images - even from the same iPhone - can be opened without any problems in Pixelmator.

I hope you can find a solution.

Best regards,
Dany